Conference Awards

For over 10 years, ICBME has attracted very high quality papers from authors who have demonstrated creativity and excellent research in biomedical engineering. Traditionally we had given out the Young Investigator Award (YIA) and at the 10th ICBME, we introduced the Outstanding Paper Awards (OPA) for the first time. The coming congress will see three categories of awards being presented. A select committee comprising internationally renowned reviewers will serve as the coming ICBME 2008 Awards Panel. The three categories of awards are described below:

1) Young Investigator Award (YIA)

These awards are given to authors who are 35 years of age or below. The YIA will come in the form of attractive cash awards and certificates. These awards are given on the basis of creativity, originality and high impact on biomedical engineering and health care. Single author paper is encouraged. However, if it is a multiple authored paper, the young investigator must be the first author and a letter from his/her supervisor(s) or co-author(s) verifying his/her significant contributions to the research paper.

2) Outstanding Paper Award (OPA)

These awards are presented to authors (both oral and poster papers) who have demonstrated excellent research work and have clearly communicated the results of the research in a clear and concise manner either in the poster format or during the oral presentation. A cash award and a certificate will be given for each OPA. Only the presenting author will be given the award. The awards will normally be presented at the end of the conference.

3) Honorary Distinguished Award (HDA)

These awards are given to honor distinguished scientists who are role models, and have made major contributions to the field of biomedical engineering. They should have served as a member of the ICBME International Advisory Panel (IAP) for at least 3 conferences. Each award will come in the form of a plaque and a certificate. The HDA will be announced during the conference banquet.